
- 4 cameras
- 2K
- Solar

Best for: 2-camera coverage of a home and no monthly fee.
Avoid if: You want continuous 24/7 recording.
$249.95
Price as of 2:00 PM EDT
Want this scored for your own property? Open the finder
Not stated by Arlo: Recorder channels, drive included, PoE switch included.
Not stated by Arlo: Field of view, optical zoom, frame rate, lens.
Not stated by Arlo: Ethernet, PoE, 4G LTE, plug-in power.
Not stated by Arlo: MicroSD card, NAS, RTSP stream, ONVIF Profile S, ONVIF Profile T.
Not stated by Arlo: Faces, line crossing, on-device processing.
Not stated by Arlo: Low-light colour sensor, night range.
Not stated by Arlo: Weather rating.
From the manufacturer's published specifications. Anything the manufacturer does not state is left out.
Worked out from how this product records; the manufacturer does not publish an outage statement.
No plan is needed to record. The cheapest plan is Arlo Smart Aware Single Camera at $9.99 a month (checked October 21, 2026). Free without a plan: recording and live view away from home; needs a plan: smart detection and cloud history.
| Up front | Monthly | 3 years | 5 years | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| As sold | $249.95 | $0.00 | $249.95 | $249.95 |
| With Arlo Smart Aware Single Camera | $249.95 | $19.98 | $969.23 | $1,448.75 |
Today's Amazon price plus the plan at its published monthly price. Prices change; the plan price was checked on the date above.
~2.6TB required · Recommended drive: 4TB (89GB a day)
Lowest $249.95, highest $249.95 since October 20, 2026.
A trend line appears after 7 days of price checks.


The Arlo Ultra 2 Spotlight Camera 2-Camera Kit with SmartHub is a base-station camera kit that records at 4K 8MP, sold with 2 cameras. It is best for 2-camera coverage of a home and no monthly fee.
What it does well: no subscription needed to record, 4K 8MP detail, colour night vision and solar charging. What to weigh up: a paid plan for smart alerts and event clips rather than 24/7 recording.
At $249.95 on Amazon today, it has a mid-range price: 1 of the 5 base-station kits we track cost less.
In the box: 2 cameras.
You will also want a surveillance hard drive, because none is included, a spot near your router for the base station and a UPS if you want it to keep recording through a power cut.
At $249.95 that works out to $124.98 per camera with the recorder included.
No. It records to a recorder or Arlo's hub with no monthly fee; Arlo Smart Aware Single Camera (from $9.99 a month) is optional and adds cloud backup.
Smart alerts for people and vehicles need the plan, live view on your phone away from home is free and cloud history comes only with the plan.
If you do add the plan, three years comes to about $969.23 including the hardware; without it, the $249.95 you pay today is the whole cost.
At 4K 8MP there is enough detail to zoom into a recording and still read a face or a number plate, which is what matters after an incident.
It can record in colour after dark by switching on its own spotlight, which also tends to move people on. Colour matters at night because clothing and car colours are often the details police ask for.
In full darkness it switches to infrared and records in black and white. Infrared bounces off glass, so do not mount it behind a window, and keep eaves and walls out of the edge of the frame.
Yes. It recognises people, vehicles, packages and animals. That is the difference between a few useful alerts a day and dozens set off by trees, shadows and headlights.
Those smart alerts need Arlo Smart Aware Single Camera; without it you get plain motion alerts.
Activity zones let you draw the areas it watches, so the street or a neighbour's yard does not set it off.
Two-way audio lets you speak to a visitor or a delivery driver from your phone.
Battery cameras record short clips, not continuous video, so storage goes a long way. At 4K 8MP, 50 clips of 20 seconds a day come to about 0.7GB a day.
The calculator above works out the exact figure for your own camera count, settings and retention.
If the internet goes down it keeps recording locally; you will not get phone alerts or remote viewing until the connection returns, and the footage is there when it does.
On Wi-Fi it also depends on your router: if the router loses power, the camera can still save locally but cannot send anything.
In a power cut the camera itself keeps running on its battery, but your router does not unless it has backup power.
It joins your Wi-Fi. Check the signal at the mounting spot with your phone before you drill; a weak signal is the most common reason Wi-Fi cameras miss events.
There is no wiring: it runs on a rechargeable battery and wakes to record a clip when it senses motion. That makes it quick to fit anywhere, but it does not record around the clock. Solar charging keeps the battery topped up where the panel gets a few hours of direct sun a day.
Arlo says it records to Arlo's own recorders, such as the Arlo Pro SmartHub VMB4540 ($99.99). A same-brand recorder keeps every feature, including smart alerts.
Arlo does not state RTSP or ONVIF support for it, so do not count on third-party recorders or software.
Yes: Arlo lists Amazon Alexa, Google Home and SmartThings support. That typically means live view on a smart display or TV and use in routines; recording and alerts still run through Arlo's own app. It is not listed for Apple Home, which matters if your household runs on iPhones and HomeKit.
The Arlo Pro Security Camera 2K (6th Gen) 4-Camera Kit ($239.99) records at a lower 2K and costs $9.96 less.
The ANNKE C800 4K PoE Turret Camera 4-Pack ($339.99) runs on one PoE cable and costs $90.04 more.
Each is listed with its live price and Security Fit in Alternatives above. If a paid plan for smart alerts is a deal-breaker, the first of those is where to look.
We started tracking it on October 20, 2026 and it has held at $249.95. With under a week of checks we cannot yet say whether $249.95 is a good price; the price history above fills in as checks run every six hours.
Amazon prices change often; the price shown is from our latest check, and the button goes to the current listing.
It is the right buy for 2-camera coverage of a home and no monthly fee, especially if you value no subscription needed to record and 4K 8MP detail.
Skip it if you want continuous 24/7 recording, or if a paid plan for smart alerts rules it out.
If it fits, the button below goes to the current Amazon listing. If you are not sure, the finder scores it against your own property and suggests a complete system.
Arlo Ultra 2 Spotlight 2-Camera Kit
$249.95 · Price as of 2:00 PM EDT
Updated