

Swann AdvancedX 4K 8-Channel NVR System with 8 Bullet Cameras
Best for: 8-camera coverage of a large home or business with wired, always-on recording and no monthly fee.
Avoid if: You cannot run cable between the cameras and the recorder.
$899.99
Price as of 2:01 PM EDT
- In the box
- 8 cameras, 8-channel recorder, 1TB drive
- Resolution
- 4K
- Power and connection
- PoE (one cable)
- Storage
- NVR, 1TB drive included
- Smart detection
- People and vehicles
- Night vision
- Colour, spotlight, infrared, 30.5 m
- Weather rating
- IP66
- Subscription needed
- No
Want this scored for your own property? Open the finder
Specifications
In the box
- Cameras included
- 8
- Recorder channels
- 8
- Drive included
- 1TB
- PoE switch included
- No
Picture
- Resolution
- 4K
- Optical zoom
- 0x
Not stated by Swann: Field of view, digital zoom, frame rate, sensor, lens.
Power and connection
- Wi-Fi
- No
- Ethernet
- Yes
- PoE
- Yes
- 4G LTE
- No
- Battery
- No
- Solar charging
- No
Not stated by Swann: Plug-in power.
Recording
- NVR
- Yes
- Hub or base station
- No
Not stated by Swann: MicroSD card, NAS, cloud, RTSP stream, ONVIF Profile S, ONVIF Profile T.
Smart detection
- People
- Yes
- Vehicles
- Yes
- Line crossing
- Yes
- Activity zones
- Yes
Not stated by Swann: Packages, animals, faces, on-device processing.
Night vision
- Infrared
- Yes
- Colour night vision
- Yes
- Spotlight
- Yes
- Night range
- 30.5 m
Not stated by Swann: Low-light colour sensor.
Build and audio
- Weather rating
- IP66
- Lowest operating temperature
- -30°C
- Highest operating temperature
- 55°C
- Microphone
- Yes
- Speaker
- No
- Two-way audio
- No
From the manufacturer's published specifications. Anything the manufacturer does not state is left out.
What happens without internet?
- Local recording
- Yes
- NVR or hub recording
- Yes
- Motion detection
- Yes
- Remote viewingNeeds an internet connection
- No
- Cloud recording
- Not stated
- PoE powerStays on only if the PoE switch or recorder is on a UPS
- Limited
- Recording during a power cutNeeds a UPS for the recorder
- Limited
Worked out from how this product records; the manufacturer does not publish an outage statement.
Subscription requirements
No plan is needed to record. The cheapest plan is Swann Secure+ Extra Plan at $4.99 a month (checked October 20, 2026). Free without a plan: recording, smart detection and live view away from home.
- Records without a plan
- Yes
- Smart detection without a plan
- Yes
- Live view away from home without a plan
- Yes
- Cloud history without a plan
- Not stated
Cost to own
| Up front | Monthly | 3 years | 5 years | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| As sold | $899.99 | $0.00 | $899.99 | $899.99 |
| With Swann Secure+ Extra Plan | $899.99 | $4.99 | $1,079.63 | $1,199.39 |
Today's Amazon price plus the plan at its published monthly price. Prices change; the plan price was checked on the date above.
Storage requirements
~3.5TB required · Recommended drive: 6TB (118GB a day)
Price history
Lowest $899.99, highest $899.99 since October 20, 2026.
A trend line appears after 7 days of price checks.
Alternatives




In depth
Is the Swann AdvancedX NVR System worth buying?
The Swann AdvancedX 4K 8-Channel NVR System with 8 Bullet Cameras is an NVR camera system that records at 4K, sold with 8 cameras. It is best for 8-camera coverage of a large home or business with wired, always-on recording and no monthly fee.
What it does well: a 1TB drive in the box, no subscription needed to record, 4K detail and single-cable PoE power and data. What to weigh up: a small drive for 4K recording.
At $899.99 on Amazon today, it has a mid-range price: 6 of the 9 NVR systems we track cost less.
What's in the box, and what else will you need?
In the box: 8 cameras, an 8-channel recorder and a 1TB drive, with the recorder powering the cameras over Ethernet.
You will also want an Ethernet cable run to each camera position (check how much cable the kit includes against your longest run) and a UPS if you want it to keep recording through a power cut.
At $899.99 that works out to $112.50 per camera with the recorder and drive included.
Does the Swann AdvancedX NVR System need a subscription?
No. It records to a recorder or the included drive with no monthly fee; Swann Secure+ Extra Plan (from $4.99 a month) is optional and adds cloud backup.
Smart detection works without a plan and live view on your phone away from home is free.
If you do add the plan, three years comes to about $1,079.63 including the hardware; without it, the $899.99 you pay today is the whole cost.
How well does it see at night?
It can record in colour after dark by switching on its own spotlight, which also tends to move people on. Colour matters at night because clothing and car colours are often the details police ask for.
In full darkness it switches to infrared and records in black and white, with a stated range of 30.5 m (100 ft). Infrared bounces off glass, so do not mount it behind a window, and keep eaves and walls out of the edge of the frame.
Will it tell people apart from cars, animals and shadows?
Yes. It recognises people and vehicles. That is the difference between a few useful alerts a day and dozens set off by trees, shadows and headlights.
Activity zones let you draw the areas it watches, so the street or a neighbour's yard does not set it off.
Line-crossing alerts fire only when someone crosses a line you draw, useful along a fence or a driveway entrance.
It records sound through a built-in microphone.
How many days of recording does the drive hold?
Its 8 cameras recording around the clock at 4K use about 506GB a day between them, using H.265.
The included 1TB drive holds about 1 days of continuous recording, or 5 days recording on motion only, keeping a 25% margin. After that the oldest footage is overwritten automatically.
For longer, swap in a bigger drive: the Seagate SkyHawk AI ST8000VE001 8TB Surveillance Hard Drive ($329.99) holds about 12 days of continuous recording with these cameras, or record on motion only.
The recorder takes drives up to 8TB.
The calculator above lets you change cameras, settings and retention to see the exact figure.
Can you add more cameras later?
Not on this recorder: its 8 channels are all used by the 8 cameras in the kit. If you expect to add cameras, a kit with a larger recorder costs less than replacing it later.
What happens if the Wi-Fi or the power goes down?
If the internet goes down it keeps recording locally; you will not get phone alerts or remote viewing until the connection returns, and the footage is there when it does.
In a power cut it stops unless the recorder or PoE switch powering it is on a battery backup. A UPS such as the APC Back-UPS 600VA BE600M1 ($83.99) keeps the recorder, switch and router running through short cuts.
What do you need to install it?
It needs one Ethernet cable per camera, carrying power and data together (PoE), up to 100 m (328 ft) per run. The cable plugs into a recorder with PoE ports or a PoE switch such as the TP-Link TL-SG1008P 8-Port Gigabit Desktop Switch with 4-Port PoE+ ($40.53). There is no power socket needed at the camera and no Wi-Fi to drop out, which is why wired cameras are the most reliable choice.
It is rated IP66: dust-tight and protected against powerful water jets, so driving rain is not a problem. It is rated to work from -30°C to 55°C (-22°F to 131°F).
Does it work with an NVR, Blue Iris or Home Assistant?
Swann says it records to Swann's own recorder or hub. A same-brand recorder keeps every feature, including smart alerts.
Swann does not state RTSP or ONVIF support for it, so do not count on third-party recorders or software.
Does it work with Alexa, Google Home or Apple Home?
Our record for it lists no Alexa, Google Home or Apple Home support. If voice control or a smart display matters to you, check Swann's compatibility page first.
What should you consider instead?
The Reolink RLK8-800D4 4K 8-Channel PoE NVR System with 4 Dome Cameras ($584.99) includes a larger 2TB drive and costs $315.00 less.
The Reolink RLK8-800B4 4K 8-Channel PoE NVR System with 4 Bullet Cameras ($699.99) includes a larger 2TB drive and costs $200.00 less.
The Reolink RLK16-800D8 4K 16-Channel PoE NVR System with 8 Dome Cameras ($1,069.99) includes a larger 4TB drive, records 16 channels and costs $170.00 more.
Each is listed with its live price and Security Fit in Alternatives above. If a small drive for 4K recording is a deal-breaker, the first of those is where to look.
Is now a good time to buy?
We started tracking it on October 20, 2026 and it has held at $899.99. With under a week of checks we cannot yet say whether $899.99 is a good price; the price history above fills in as checks run every six hours.
Amazon prices change often; the price shown is from our latest check, and the button goes to the current listing.
Should you buy the Swann AdvancedX NVR System?
It is the right buy for 8-camera coverage of a large home or business with wired, always-on recording and no monthly fee, especially if you value a 1TB drive in the box and no subscription needed to record.
Skip it if you cannot run cable between the cameras and the recorder, or if a small drive for 4K recording rules it out.
If it fits, the button below goes to the current Amazon listing. If you are not sure, the finder scores it against your own property and suggests a complete system.
Swann AdvancedX NVR System
$899.99 · Price as of 2:01 PM EDT
Updated