
- 5 cameras
- 1080p
- Battery

Best for: 2-camera coverage of a home and no monthly fee.
Avoid if: You want continuous 24/7 recording.
$114.99
Price as of 2:01 PM EDT
Want this scored for your own property? Open the finder
Not stated by Tapo: Recorder channels, drive included, PoE switch included.
Not stated by Tapo: Optical zoom, frame rate.
Not stated by Tapo: Ethernet, PoE, 4G LTE, plug-in power.
Not stated by Tapo: NVR, hub or base station, NAS, RTSP stream, ONVIF Profile S, ONVIF Profile T.
Not stated by Tapo: Packages, faces, line crossing, on-device processing.
From the manufacturer's published specifications. Anything the manufacturer does not state is left out.
Worked out from how this product records; the manufacturer does not publish an outage statement.
The cheapest plan is Tapo Cloud at $3.49 a month (checked October 21, 2026). Tapo prices Cloud per device, up to two devices. Free without a plan: recording, smart detection and live view away from home; needs a plan: cloud history.
| Up front | Monthly | 3 years | 5 years | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| As sold | $114.99 | $0.00 | $114.99 | $114.99 |
| With Tapo Cloud | $114.99 | $6.98 | $366.27 | $533.79 |
Today's Amazon price plus the plan at its published monthly price. Prices change; the plan price was checked on the date above.
~1.5TB required · Recommended drive: 2TB (52GB a day)
Lowest $114.99, highest $114.99 since October 20, 2026.
A trend line appears after 7 days of price checks.

The Tapo C425 MagCam 2K+ Battery Camera 2-Pack is a camera bundle that records at 2K 4MP, sold with 2 cameras. It is best for 2-camera coverage of a home and no monthly fee.
What it does well: no subscription needed to record, colour night vision, a wide 134° view and solar charging. What to weigh up: 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi only and event clips rather than 24/7 recording.
At $114.99 on Amazon today, it has the lowest price of the 3 camera bundles we track.
In the box: 2 cameras.
You will also want a UPS if you want it to keep recording through a power cut.
At $114.99 that works out to $57.50 per camera with the recorder included.
No. It records to a microSD card with no monthly fee; Tapo Cloud (from $3.49 a month) is optional and adds cloud backup.
Smart detection works without a plan, live view on your phone away from home is free and cloud history comes only with the plan.
Tapo prices Cloud per device, up to two devices.
If you do add the plan, three years comes to about $366.27 including the hardware; without it, the $114.99 you pay today is the whole cost.
At 2K 4MP it captures clearly more detail than 1080p, enough for faces at a door or across a small yard, with lower storage needs than 4K.
With a 134° horizontal view, it covers a strip about 141 ft wide at 30 ft from the camera. Using the IEC 62676-4 detail levels, a face is identifiable out to about 7 ft (2.2 m) and a person recognisable to about 14 ft. Beyond that it shows what happened but not who did it, so mount it within that distance of the spot that matters.
That wide view lets one camera watch a driveway and the lawn beside it, at the cost of less detail at the edges.
It can record in colour after dark by switching on its own spotlight, which also tends to move people on. Colour matters at night because clothing and car colours are often the details police ask for.
In full darkness it switches to infrared and records in black and white, with a stated range of 14.9 m (49 ft). Infrared bounces off glass, so do not mount it behind a window, and keep eaves and walls out of the edge of the frame.
Yes. It recognises people, vehicles and animals. That is the difference between a few useful alerts a day and dozens set off by trees, shadows and headlights.
Activity zones let you draw the areas it watches, so the street or a neighbour's yard does not set it off.
Two-way audio lets you speak to a visitor or a delivery driver from your phone.
Battery cameras record short clips, not continuous video, so storage goes a long way. At 2K 4MP, 50 clips of 20 seconds a day come to about 0.4GB a day.
A 512GB microSD card, the largest it takes, would hold well over a year of that, so the card size matters less than its endurance rating.
Use a high-endurance card made for constant writing; ordinary cards wear out within months in a camera. The SanDisk High Endurance 128GB microSDXC Card ($36.99) fits.
The calculator above works out the exact figure for your own camera count, settings and retention.
If the internet goes down it keeps recording locally; you will not get phone alerts or remote viewing until the connection returns, and the footage is there when it does.
On Wi-Fi it also depends on your router: if the router loses power, the camera can still save to its card but cannot send anything.
In a power cut the camera itself keeps running on its battery, but your router does not unless it has backup power.
It joins your Wi-Fi on 2.4 GHz. Check the signal at the mounting spot with your phone before you drill; a weak signal is the most common reason Wi-Fi cameras miss events. It does not use 5 GHz, so make sure your router still broadcasts a 2.4 GHz network.
There is no wiring: it runs on a rechargeable battery and wakes to record a clip when it senses motion. That makes it quick to fit anywhere, but it does not record around the clock. Solar charging keeps the battery topped up where the panel gets a few hours of direct sun a day.
It is rated IP66: dust-tight and protected against powerful water jets, so driving rain is not a problem. It is rated to work from -20°C to 45°C (-4°F to 113°F).
Tapo does not state RTSP or ONVIF support for it, so do not count on third-party recorders or software.
Yes: Tapo lists Amazon Alexa and Google Home support. That typically means live view on a smart display or TV and use in routines; recording and alerts still run through Tapo's own app. It is not listed for Apple Home, which matters if your household runs on iPhones and HomeKit.
The Blink Outdoor 4 5-Camera System with Sync Module Core ($118.99) needs a plan to record and costs $4.00 more.
Each is listed with its live price and Security Fit in Alternatives above. If 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi only is a deal-breaker, the first of those is where to look.
We started tracking it on October 20, 2026 and it has held at $114.99. With under a week of checks we cannot yet say whether $114.99 is a good price; the price history above fills in as checks run every six hours.
Amazon prices change often; the price shown is from our latest check, and the button goes to the current listing.
It is the right buy for 2-camera coverage of a home and no monthly fee, especially if you value no subscription needed to record and colour night vision.
Skip it if you want continuous 24/7 recording, or if 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi only rules it out.
If it fits, the button below goes to the current Amazon listing. If you are not sure, the finder scores it against your own property and suggests a complete system.
Tapo C425 MagCam 2K+ 2-Pack
$114.99 · Price as of 2:01 PM EDT
Updated